Adissan

The birthplace of the Clairette grape

Fancy taking a break in the middle of wine-producing countryside? Take time to stop off in Adissan and sample this unique, celebratory wine.

The greatest of the great Languedoc wines

“It was the Romans who were responsible for introducing Clairette, Narbonne’s finest grape variety.”

The village of Adissan may have got its name from a rich, Roman property owner who set up his villa south of what is today’s village. Archaeological digs carried out on this important site, have uncovered evidence of land planted with vines as well as large wine-making facilities and significant wine storage, in particular. Bunches of grapes found here, at the bottom of a well, have been identified as the Clairette variety.

Adissan is in the heart of the Clairette du Languedoc region, which achieved AOC status in 1948. As you stroll through the narrow village streets, you’ll notice the wine-growers’ houses, the legacy of a thriving wine business.

Treat yourself to a tasting session at the Wine Cooperative where you can sample the famous dry white or sweet white wines produced from the famous Clairette grape variety, a unique, small-berried, white grape.

Explore the village

In Adissan, you can either take a break in the shady park, near the old washhouses or in place du Griffe square, adorned with the statue l’Eté, (Summer), by the great sculptor, Mathurin Moreau. The Romanesque church, Saint-Adrien, first referred to in 1175, was rebuilt during the 14th century, in a rural, Gothic style. Its belfry dominates the village.

Close up on : La Roque chapel

Take time to visit La Roque chapel, 2.5 km from the village, along the vineyards. The view from its lookout point is breath-taking! Two interpretation panels provide information about the landscape and the famous Clairette grape. It was built by local inhabitants in 1851 in honour of the Virgin Mary, following the outbreak of the plague

Office de Tourisme

Bureau d'information

Place des Etats du Languedoc

34120 Pézenas

Téléphone : 04 67 98 36 40

Email

Town hall

Plan des consuls

34230 Adissan

Phone : +33 4 67 25 01 12

Email

Share
Facebook Twitter Pinterest
Panier

My coupons

See all the offers Coupon supprimé. Annuler

Le berceau de la Clairette

Envie d’une pause en plein cœur de la campagne viticole ? Prenez le temps de vous arrêter à Adissan et de déguster ce vin unique et festif.

Fleuron des grands vins du Languedoc

« Ce sont les romains qui font de la clairette le grand cépage de la Narbonnaise »…

Le nom du village d’Adissan pourrait venir du nom d’un riche propriétaire romain qui aurait implanté sa villa au Sud du village actuel. Sur ce centre domanial important, les fouilles archéologiques ont mis en évidence un terroir planté en vigne ainsi que de grandes installations viticoles avec, en particulier, d’importants chais de stockage. Ici des grappes de raisins retrouvées au fond d’un puits ont été identifiées comme de la Clairette.

Adissan est au cœur de l’AOC Clairette du Languedoc, reconnue en 1948. En vous promenant dans les ruelles du village, vous découvrez les maisons de vignerons qui témoignent d’une activité viticole riche.

Pour goûter cette fameuse Clairette, vin blanc sec ou moelleux issu du cépage unique Clairette blanche à petits grains, laissez-vous tenter par une dégustation à la Cave Coopérative.

Découvrez le village

A Adissan, vous avez le choix de faire une pause dans le parc ombragé, près des anciens lavoirs, ou sur la place du Griffe ornée de la statue de l’Eté, œuvre du grand sculpteur Mathurin Moreau. L’église romane Saint-Adrien mentionnée en 1175 fût reconstruite au XIVème siècle, dans le style gothique rural. Sa tour clocher domine le village.

Zoom sur La chapelle de la Roque

Prenez le temps de vous rendre à la chapelle de la Roque, à 2,5 km du village, le long des vignobles. La vue depuis son belvédère est à couper le souffle ! Deux tables d’interprétation y évoquent le paysage et la fameuse Clairette. Elle fut construite en 1851 par les habitants en l’honneur de la Vierge Marie, à la suite d’une épidémie de suette.

Office de Tourisme

Bureau d'information

Place des Etats du Languedoc

34120 Pézenas

Téléphone : 04 67 98 36 40

Email

Mairie

Plan des consuls

34230 Adissan

Téléphone : 04 67 25 01 12

www.adissan.fr

Email

Partagez sur
Facebook Twitter Pinterest
Panier

Mes coupons

Voir toutes les offres Coupon supprimé. Annuler