Nézignan l'Evêque

 The “circulade” village of “Becos Figos”

You’ll love this charming village with its shady side streets, encircling its old fortified castle.

Walk around there's much to see!

Nézignan-l’Evêque was once a Roman villa, later owned by the Counts of Béziers before being taken over the Bishops of Agde during the 12th century. This “circulade” village was built along three ditches and concentric town walls, which surrounded the castle.

Make sure you have time to take a tour: check out the old fountain built in 1621, surrounded by wash houses, - the perfect place to relax. Look out too for the wealthy, Renaissance style buildings with mullioned windows, gargoyles and corbels. You’ll love wandering around the side streets, staring at the skies!

The 12th century Church of Saint-Mary-Madeleine, with its sublime 17th century portal, houses a museum of religious art and history.

The charm of the "Camininieres"

Nézignan-l’Evêque has a wealth of kitchen gardens and vineyards, accessed via “caminières ,” cobbled paths, surrounded by high walls. Dotted amongst the vineyards are small farm cottages and barns where the wine-growers used to store their tools or take shelter during a storm. During the course of your walk, you’ll notice several stone or wrought iron crosses.

A closer look at the fig arboretum

Did you know that the inhabitants of Nézignan-l’Evêque were nicknamed “becos figos” or fig-eaters? The fig is the local speciality that, in the past, was left out to dry on planks placed on corbel-type structures that projected from the houses. Visit the arboretum; it has more than 80 different species of fig trees. During the Aoûtiales, August festival, the fig is , celebrated by the Brotherhood of Becos Figos together with locally produced wines and other regional products. Long live summer!

Tourist Office

Place des Etats du Languedoc

34120 Pézenas

Phone : 04 67 98 36 40

Email

Town Hall

1 Rue du 4 Septembre

34120 Nézignan-l'Évêque

Phone : 04 67 90 45 38

Email

 

Share
Facebook Twitter Pinterest
Panier

My coupons

See all the offers Coupon supprimé. Annuler

Nézignan l'Evêque

Le village en circulade des « Becos figos »

Vous allez succomber au charme de ce village qui enroule ses ruelles ombragées autour de son ancien château fort.

Circulez, il y a tout à voir !

Jadis villa romaine, puis propriété des Comtes de Béziers, Nézignan-l’Evêque entre dans le domaine des Evêques d’Agde au XIIe siècle. Ce village « en circulade » est construit le long de trois fossés et remparts concentriques qui entouraient le château.

Prenez le temps d’y faire un tour : la fontaine vieille doublée de lavoirs, construite en 1621, invite au repos, les riches bâtisses de style Renaissance dotées de fenêtres à meneaux, gargouilles et corbeaux… Vous aurez plaisir à musarder dans les ruelles, les yeux en l’air !

L’église Sainte Marie-Madeleine du XIIe, sublimée par son portail du XVIIe s., abrite un musée d’art sacré et d’histoire.

Le charme des caminières

Nézignan-l’Evêque est riche de ses jardins potagers et de ses vignes desservis par les « caminières », des chemins pavés entourés de hauts murs. Les vignes sont parsemées de mazets et de grangeots, qui  permettaient aux viticulteurs de ranger leurs outils ou se mettre à l’abri en cas d’orage. Et au fil de votre promenade, vous remarquerez les nombreuses croix de pierre ou en fer forgé.

Zoom sur l’arboretum du figuier et le jardin botanique

Saviez-vous que les habitants de Nézignan-l’Evêque étaient surnommés les « becos figos », mangeurs de figues ? La figue est la spécialité locale que l’on faisait sécher sur des planches installées sur « les corbeaux » des maisons. Le jardin botanique sert d’écrin à de nombreuses variétés méditerranéennes et l’arboretum compte plus de 80 espèces de figuiers. Lors de la fête des Aoûtiales, le figuier est mis à l’honneur par la Confrérie des Becos Figos, les produits du terroir et les vins aussi. Vivement l’été !

Téléchargez le plan de visite

Office de Tourisme

Bureau d'information

Place des Etats du Languedoc

34120 Pézenas

Téléphone : 04 67 98 36 40

Email

Mairie

1 Rue du 4 Septembre

34120 Nézignan-l'Évêque

Téléphone : 04 67 90 45 38

www.nezignan.fr

Email

 

Partagez sur
Facebook Twitter Pinterest
Panier

Mes coupons

Voir toutes les offres Coupon supprimé. Annuler