Cazouls d'Hérault

A Templar village on the banks of the Hérault

This green, village retreat, which sits at the confluence of the river Boyne and the Hérault, closely protects its surroundings and guards its Occitan traditions.

A knights templar commandery

During the Middle Ages, this village was initially placed under the joint jurisdiction of the Bishops of Béziers, who owned the church of Saint-Pierre, and the Bishop of Agde, who owned the land.

The bishop of Béziers ceded Saint-Pierre church to the Templars in around 1150 who then founded the commandery which later passed into the hands of the Hospitaliers (Knights of Saint John of Jerusalem). This château was sold off by the state at the time of the Revolution.

Today, you can still find traces of this past if you wander along the rue des Templiers: the feudal walls of the old Templars commandery and the church of Saint-Pierre Saint-Paul, with its distinctive crenelated terrace and sun dial.

Like a garden on the river banks

The village is surrounded by dikes,constructed from 1852 onwards to prevent flooding from the river Hérault. Today they have become a popular place to walk, ideal for exploring the area’s natural, flat landscape.

The last dike, which was constructed in 1901, following a serious flood in September 1875, is still operational and used to protect the town. Wander along this “green belt” between the village and river, and admire the beauty of this village, so committed to preserving its natural landscape and the Languedoc culture.

A closer look at Tambourin

In Cazouls-d’Hérault, a regional sport - a ball game called Tambourin - generates real excitement and enthusiasm amongst members of the public. It is an old ball game. It involves two opposing teams of five players. The Cazouls club is one-hundred-years old. It is home to Europe’s Tambourin championships. Enquire about the Tambourin matches organised in the villages and find out more about this spectacular sport.

Our recommendation

The modest house located at No 3, Plan Neuf, belongs to the family of Louis Paulhan, “King of the Air” (1883-1963) who was a pioneer aviator.

Tourist Office

Place des Etats du Languedoc

34120 Pézenas

Phone : 04 67 98 36 40

Email

Town Hall

3 Place de la Fontaine

34120 Cazouls-d'Hérault

Phone : 04 67 25 27 40

Email

Prepare your holiday

Share
Facebook Twitter Pinterest
Panier

My coupons

See all the offers Coupon supprimé. Annuler

Cazouls d'Hérault

Un village templier au bord de l’Hérault

Echappée verte dans ce village situé au confluent de la rivière Boyne et du fleuve Hérault qui préserve étroitement son environnement et ses traditions occitanes.

Une commanderie de templiers

Au Moyen-Age, ce village fut d’abord placé sous la double juridiction des évêques de Béziers qui possédaient l’église Saint-Pierre et l’évêque d’Agde qui possédait les terres.

L’évêque de Béziers ayant cédé ses droits sur l’église Saint-Pierre aux Templiers vers 1150, ils fondent la commanderie qui passera ensuite aux mains des Hospitaliers de Saint-Jean de Jérusalem. Ce château sera vendu à la Révolution comme Bien national.

Aujourd’hui vous retrouverez les témoins de cette histoire, en parcourant dans la rue des Templiers : les murailles féodales de l’ancienne commanderie de Templiers ainsi que l’église Saint-Pierre Saint-Paul, caractéristique par sa terrasse crénelée et son cadran solaire.

Comme un jardin au bord du fleuve

Le village est entouré de digues aménagées dès 1852 pour limiter les inondations causées par le fleuve Hérault. Elles sont devenues un lieu de promenade et vous permettent de découvrir le paysage naturel de la plaine.

La dernière digue aménagée en 1901 suite à une grave inondation en septembre 1875, est toujours en fonctionnement et protège la ville. Engagez-vous sur cette « ceinture verte », entre le village et les cours d’eau, pour apprécier la beauté du village attaché à défendre son patrimoine naturel et sa culture languedocienne.

Zoom sur le tambourin

A Cazouls-d’Hérault, un sport régional crée l’engouement et la passion du public : le jeu de balle au tambourin. C’est l’ancien jeu de ballon. Il oppose deux équipes de cinq joueurs. Le club de Cazouls est centenaire. Il accueille les championnats d’Europe. Renseignez-vous sur les matches de Tambourin organisés dans les villages pour découvrir ce sport spectaculaire.

Clin d’œil

La modeste maison située au n°3 sur le Plan Neuf est celle de la famille de « l’homme vent », Louis Paulhan (1883-1963) qui fut un pionnier de l’aviation.

Office de Tourisme

Bureau d'information

Place des Etats du Languedoc

34120 Pézenas

Téléphone : 04 67 98 36 40

Email

Mairie

3 Place de la Fontaine

34120 Cazouls-d'Hérault

Téléphone : 04 67 25 27 40

www.cazouls-herault.eu

Email

Partagez sur
Facebook Twitter Pinterest
Panier

Mes coupons

Voir toutes les offres Coupon supprimé. Annuler